2022-2023 Undergraduate Bulletin 
    
    Feb 04, 2023  
2022-2023 Undergraduate Bulletin

Academic Calendars


The academic calendars are subject to change. Please check https://www.hamline.edu/about/offices-services/registration-records/academic-calendars for the latest information.


On Campus Undergraduate Academic Calendar 2022-2023

Hamline’s on campus undergraduate program follows a 4-1-4 academic calendar. During each of the 15-week fall and spring terms a student has a normal schedule of four 4-credit courses. Students have the option of taking one 4-credit course in the month-long winter term. In a nine-month academic year a student typically completes 32 semester credits. New students normally begin classes in either the fall or spring term. The calendar offers flexibility in curriculum planning and opens the way for the student to combine a variety of off-campus experiences with classroom learning. Many students have used the winter term for independent study projects requiring off-campus study, or for study abroad.

Summer session is considered separate from the regular academic year. During summer, two four-week terms and an overlapping ten-week term are scheduled. Summer study at Hamline enables students to make up credits, accelerate progress toward their degrees, take courses that might be difficult to schedule in a regular term, or take advantage of reduced summer tuition. 


Fall Term  

August 29-December 15, 2022

Fall term classes begin   Monday, August 29
Labor Day Holiday   Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving break   Thursday-Friday, November 24-25
Fall term classes end   Thursday, December 8
Study days   Friday-Sunday, December 9-11
Fall term final exams   Monday-Thursday, December 12-15 

Winter Term   January 3-20, 2023
Winter term classes begin   Tuesday, January 3
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 16
Winter term classes end   Friday, January 20

Spring Term   January 23-May 11, 2023
Spring term classes begin   Monday, January 23 
Midterm break   Monday-Friday, March 13-17
Spring term classes end   Thursday, May 4
Study days   Friday-Sunday, May 5-7
Spring term final exams   Monday-Thursday, May 8-11
Commencement   Saturday, May 13

Summer Term   May 15-August 11, 2023
May Term classes begin   Monday, May 15
Memorial Day holiday   Monday, May 29
May Term classes end   Friday, June 2
Summer I classes begin   Monday, June 5
Summer I classes end   Friday, June 30
Summer II classes begin   Monday, July 10
Summer II classes end   Friday, August 4
Summer III classes begin   Monday, June 5
Fourth of July holiday   Tuesday, July 4
Summer III classes end   Friday, August 11

 


Online Bachelor’s Degree Completion Academic Calendar 2022-2023

Hamline’s online degree completion program courses are offered in eight-week sessions, two sessions each in fall, spring, and summer semesters. Students may take up to two four-credit courses in each eight-week session, and must take at least 12 credits within a 16-week semester to be considered full-time.


Fall Semester   August 29-December 18, 2022
Session One classes begin   Monday, August 29
Labor Day Holiday   Monday, September 5
Session One classes end   Sunday, October 23
Session Two classes begin   Monday, October 24
Thanksgiving Holiday   Thursday-Friday, November 24-25
Session Two classes end   Sunday, December 18

Spring Semester   January 3-April 23, 2023
Session One classes begin   Tuesday, January 3
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 17
Session One classes end   Sunday, February 26
Session Two classes begin   Monday, February 27
Session Two classes end   Sunday, April 23
Commencement   Saturday, May 13

Summer Semester   May 1-August 20, 2023
Session One classes begin   Monday, May 1
Memorial Day Holiday   Monday, May 29
Session One classes end   Sunday, June 25
Session Two classes begin   Monday, June 26
Fourth of July Holiday   Tuesday, July 4
Session Two classes end   Sunday, August 20