Mar 23, 2018  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2017-2018 Undergraduate Bulletin

Academic Calendar

Hamline follows a 4-1-4 academic calendar. During each of the 15-week fall and spring terms a student has a normal schedule of four 4-credit courses. Students have the option of taking one 4-credit course in the one-month winter term. In a nine-month academic year a student typically completes 32 semester credits. New students normally begin classes in either the fall or spring term. The calendar offers flexibility in curriculum planning and opens the way for the student to combine a variety of off-campus experiences with classroom learning. Many students have used the winter term for independent study projects requiring off-campus study, or for study abroad.

Summer session is considered separate from the regular academic year. During summer, two four-week terms and an overlapping ten-week term are scheduled. Summer study at Hamline enables students to make up credits, accelerate progress toward their degrees, take courses that might be difficult to schedule in a regular term, or take advantage of reduced summer tuition. Students should consult the summer term website at for further information.

Undergraduate Academic Calendar 2017-2018

Note: The academic calendar is subject to change.
Please check for the latest information.

Fall Term   2017
Fall term classes begin   Wednesday, September 6
Midterm break   Friday, October 27
Thanksgiving break   Thursday and Friday, November 23-24
Fall term classes end   Friday, December 15
Fall term final exams   Monday, December 18 - Thursday, December 21

Winter Term   2018
Winter term classes begin   Tuesday, January 2
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday   Monday, January 15
Winter term classes end   Thursday, January 25

Spring Term   2018
Spring term classes begin   Wednesday, January 31
Spring break   Monday, March 19 - Friday, March 23
Spring term classes end   Friday, May 11
Spring term final exams   Monday, May 14 - Thursday, May 17
Commencement   Saturday, May 19

Summer Term   2018
Summer I classes begin   Monday, June 4
Summer I classes end   Thursday, June 28
Summer II classes begin   Monday, July 9
Summer II classes end   Thursday, August 2
Summer III classes begin   Monday, June 4
Fourth of July holiday   Wednesday, July 4
Summer III classes end   Friday, August 10